In Praise of Aging Nudists

Dan brings up some good points and widened my perspective of the issue. Technically, I’m one of those “aging naturists” but I was already part of that demographic when I discovered naturism a little over a decade ago. Still, I don’t feel that old.

Now that I’m officially retired, I have plenty of discretionary time on my hands but not much discretionary income. Where I live there are some options in that there are three AANR clubs within reasonable driving distance of my home. I’ve been to all of them and they’re quite nice. I’d like to have other options too, places where I can skinny-dip or hike nude with minimal expenses (gas money).

The Meandering Naturist

In my most recent post – Nakation for Dummies – I made a bit of a fuss about finding the right place to experience social nudity for the first time, including a few punchy remarks about geriatric communities and sagging skin. A long-time reader felt compelled to write me a long and thoughtful email suggesting that my comments may have been a bit harsh, particularly when you consider that we are largely indebted to these pioneers of nudism for having any place to go naked at all. Point well taken.

51ac37fe6e30c4a7f1cf9958feecac44--diane-arbus-the-square

As it happens, while my insurance company has not yet granted me the benefits the label of geriatric would provide, I’m most certainly getting closer to that mark each and every day. And I would go on to say that I’m a bit envious of those who are ten or twenty years older than I, as it seems there was…

View original post 1,111 more words

